Growing Pineapple

My first idea to have a pineapple plant in my yard started in my mind when a friend suggested to me it is very easy to grow. I went to local area market sales once where they have beautiful pineapple plants but very expensive. Reluctant to spend the money came home thought I will give it a try. Purchased a pineapple fruit, started preparing to plant. Cut the top with few inches of the fruit . Then started stripping each outer leaf of the crown like you peel the onion. left little top green and some white base to grow the root. Put in the ground, forgot about it for about a year. Plant still alive with green leaves. Another year passed and one day saw tiny pineapple . Wow somehow it was a luck. Fruit is medium size, but great to eat my own fruit from my own garden. Here it is :

After fruiting pulled the plant out and then in the same spot planted another pineapple top. Prob after a year or so, one fine day due to rains I saw leaves started growing longer and bigger. This time I was just happy plant is growing. Then to my surprise I saw this tiny flower and started growing into fruit with summer rains.

This time it had larger crown than the first one. Hopefully this will grow into bigger one than before.

These are easy to grow plants in sunny areas. But it might be a year or two before you see a fruit on a plant and another 5-7 months for the fruit to ripen.

Tips:

  1. Plant multiple plants few months apart and they keep giving you fruits one after the other. Also I recommend removing the plant right after harvesting, and plant a new crown.
  2. They seem to do better in east facing side of the home.

Hope you enjoyed reading my blog! If you did enjoy this little blog of mine, please like it !!!

Happy Gardening!!!

Leave a comment